2015 Winners

River 94.9 Award - 5-7 Years

First Prize - Little Chicks by Dakota Holmes
Second Prize - Dance Girl by Bayley Roylance
Third Prize - Let's Go Nuts! by Charli Pakleppa
Highly Commended - A Little Yellow Bird by Isabella Valinoti
Highly Commended - Frogs by Mitchell Harte
Highly Commended - The Great Big Turtle by Lilli Williams
Highly Commended - At the Beach by Luca Gigliotti

Ipswich District Teacher Librarian Network Award - 8-10 Years

First Prize - This is the Farm by Alexndra O'Brien
Second Prize - Sunset on Bulcock Beach by Abbey O'Toole
Third Prize - Our Town is in a Drought by Aliana Rogers
Highly Commended - Marcus by Marcus Hargrave
Highly Commended - Midnight by Stephanie Rainbow
Highly Commended - Dragons by Isabelle Belt-Cannon
Highly Commended - Hopping Love by Jessica Sellick
Highly Commended - Midnight by Jazz Triggs
Highly Commended - My Family is Talented by Chloe Brook
Highly Commended - My Life by Kavindi Athuraliya
Highly Commended - Jellyfish and Wahoo by Kailani Clifton
Highly Commended - Motor Bikes by Dominic Cafe

Broderick Family Award - 11-13 Years

First Prize - If Only the World was Black and White by Ashleigh Dowling
Second Prize - Thanatos and Elysium by Lewis Orr
Third Prize - Thy Proclivities by Lewis Orr
Highly Commended - To End the Pain by Zoe Wing
Highly Commended - Emptiness by Bronte Schmidt
Highly Commended - If All the World were Water by Ella Watson-Paul
Highly Commended - My Saxophone by Hannah Larsen
Highly Commended - Nervous by Layla Williams

Queensland Times Award- 14-15 Years

First Prize - Kestrel by Brynnie Angharad Rafe
Second Prize - Light by Alissa Nowak
Third Prize - An Open Letter to God by Grace Vipen
Highly Commended - Our Brave Boys by William Mellor
Highly Commended - My Wish for You by Alexandria Walker
Highly Commended - Orthodoxy is Unconsciousness by Vanessa Eagles

Ipswich City Council Award - 16-17 Years

First Prize - Staring at the Ceiling by Ingrid Brett
Second Prize - Aphelion by Ella Fox-Martens
Third Prize - (An Ode to Guilt) by Melanie Johnson
Highly Commended - Where Do the Birds Go? by Freya Cox
Highly Commended - Gone in a Day by Freya Cox
Highly Commended - Remorse by Jemma Payne
Highly Commended - Together by Holly Dignan
Highly Commended - Bookshelf City by Abigail Thomas
Highly Commended - Forgotten Children by Freya Cox

Metro Hotel Ipswich International Award - Open Age Bush Poetry

First Prize - The Pact by Kay Gorring
Second Prize - Empty Beds and Broken Hearts by David Campbell
Third Prize - No Glory Here by Shelley Hansen
Highly Commended - Murray Moon by Brenda Joy
Highly Commended - Thy Will be Done… by Brenda Joy
Highly Commended - The Mine on Koolan Island by Hugh Allan
Highly Commended - Jack, My Friend by Shelley Hansen

Joy Chambers & Reg Grundy Award - Open Age Other Poetry

First Prize - Predicting a Greensborough Woolworths Sit In by Damen O'Brien
Second Prize - A Wheatfield, Very Yellow by Kate O'Neil
Third Prize - Memorial by Maree Reedman
Highly Commended - Smoke and Stories by Maree Reedman
Highly Commended - What's Left by Bry Throssell
Highly Commended - Lies about Space by Rafael S.W.
Highly Commended - Ballon on Wallam by Denise Parker
Highly Commended - There's a Boy Falling by Dancey Gordon
Highly Commended - My Mother and Birds by Jena Woodhouse
Highly Commended - The Privy by Jena Woodhouse
Highly Commended - Mary by Valerie Read
Highly Commended - A Warning by Catherine Lee

Rosewood Green Award - Open Age Local Poets

First Prize - Atlas Shrugged by Brett Dionysius
Second Prize - Beneath Sovereign Pocket by Gill Jewell
Third Prize - No Storm Water Drains by Gill Jewell
Highly Commended - Wedge Tail by Mary McCarthy
Highly Commended - Camp Columbia by Brett Dionysius
Highly Commended - Parrot, Parrot by Mary McCarthy
Highly Commended - Ipswich on the Bremer by Maureen Clifford

Chair's Encouragement Awards

5-17 Yrs. Winner - The Skyway up to Heaven by Grace Nakamura
Open Age - The Privy by Jena Woodhouse

Ipswich Theme Awards

5-17 Yrs. Winner - I Love Ipswich by Mathew O'Neil
Open Age Winner - Jacaranda by Leonie Parker

Edwards Property Mentorship Award

Memorial by Maree Reedman

Chairperson's School Award

The Springfield Anglican College

2015 Overall Winner & recipient of
the Babies of Walloon bronze statuette

Kay Gorring

Judges’ Comments
Judges are required to provide comments on prize-winning poems only. These comments will be available only to the authors of said poems upon request. Due to privacy requirements, these comments will not be available to other authors.

Judges’ Reports
Judges will now be requested to provide an overall general feedback summary for each category they judge and the entries therein as a whole. These reports will be made available on the Ipswich Poetry Feast website at the time of publication of prize- winning poems.

Please note that all poems appearing on the Ipswich Poetry Feast web site remain the copyright of the individual poet. Under Copyright laws they may not be reproduced, reprinted, transmitted or altered in any form without express written consent of the authors.

To the best knowledge of the organiser, (Ipswich Poetry Feast Committee), the poems presented on this web site are the original work of the entrant as agreed to in the Conditions of Entry for the competition.

Top of Page